Thread: What is the best wind to fish with?

What is the best wind to fish with?

I have been fishing for about 4 years now and have not really ever been told about the wind factors at HI.

Can anyone tell me the best and worst winds to fish in? And any other important wind related info. that may be useful to me. By the way, when they say it is a South wind, does that mean it is blowing from the south or toward the south?

I spend most of my time on the northern beaches above Avon, venturing down to the point a few times a year as well. I must say it will be hard to stay away from there this weekend, with all of the cobia being caught.

During my 4 years of fishing, I still have not caught "the big one" but that won't stop me from trying!!!

Thanks for any information!

Tight Lines

Jason

Jason,you probably will get better qualified advice than this ,but just incase you don,t :- southwind is COMING from the south.IF ever clueless fish facing the wind when possible.

Different wind directions are better in different times of the year. Spring time SSW winds are prefered but fall is a good time to fish NE winds. Also dependent on water temps etc. Of course the best time to fish is whenever you can!
    My .02 worth,
    YS
    Why am I so addicted to catching a fish I can't keep?!

Rules of thumb.

There are more exceptions to the rules than there are rules, and there are other factors besides the wind to consider. Here's a few things to think of:

Fish into the wind. (Oft quoted general rule.)

5-10 kts onshore is pretty good. Much over 25 kts may be unfishable.

Find the bait and you'll find the fish.

Consider the water temperature. Fish have preferred temp ranges; know what your targeted species likes or won't tolerate.

Sight feeders aren't likely to spend a lot of time in muddy water; so surf conditions and wind direction/force, which govern nearshore turbidity, need to be considered.